New Canadiana :: Various Artists – Afterburners Vol. 2

Various Artists - Afterburners Vol. 2
Bruised Tongue continues to do the lord’s work on the second edition of its jam-stacked cassette comp. Perennial / recent faves like the shoeglazed slack-pop of Monomyth, moody night-moves of Boyhood, junk mountain warble of Occular Gymnastics, old man miasma of Mark Alexander McIntyre, ghoulie groovies Bruised Knees and a liquefied Dylan homage from Andy Boay don’t fail to impress, but what’s even more exciting is the unfamiliar names on this roster. Varying shades of rock are represented by the Hali-facsimile of Organ Eyes, drum machine twang of Black Train and hits from the pit of Greasy Skeletons and Swollen Eyes. The horizon gets blackened with a drone-out from Sky Pup before Jason Parent and RAAS bring the beat blitz. Amidst all this madness, Mark F. sticks out with a warped falsetto strummer conjuring Mellow Gold memories of a pre-Starbucks age. Grip it or rip it and give thanks.

[audio:|titles=Monomyth – Transmission] Monomyth – Transmission
[audio:|titles=Mark Alexander McIntyr – A Birthday Party In The Dew] Mark Alexander McIntyre – A Birthday Party In The Dew
[audio:|titles=Swollen Eyes – Thats What I Am] Swollen Eyes – That’s What I Am

file under: cassette, New Canadiana, ontario.

birthed: 2012-07-27

1 Comment

One thought on “New Canadiana :: Various Artists – Afterburners Vol. 2

  1. Pingback: Various Artists – Afterburners Vol. 3 | Johnnie Regalado

Leave a Reply